Uncategorized

Gigs

Gigs on the Isle of Man 2022.

Sat 1st January – The Front Porch 8pm

Fri 7th January – The Front Porch

Sat 8th January – O’Donnell’s (cancelled)

Sun 9th January – 1886 – 4 – 8:30

Fri 14th January – The Outback

Sun 16th January – 1886

Fri 21st January – The Thirsty Pigeon

Sat 22nd January – S.D.O.F.A

Sun 23rd January – Quid’s Inn – Manxical Mystery Tour

Fri 28th January – the Blind Pig

Sat 29th January – The Thirsty Pigeon

Sun 30th January – 1886

Fri 4th February – The Front Porch

Sat 5th February – The British

Fri 11th February – The Outback (band)

Fri 11th February – Sam Webb’s

Sat 12th February – S.D.O.F.A

Fri 18th February – The Thirsty Pigeon

Fri 25th February – JAK’s (band)

Sat 26th February – The Manx Legion – (band)

Sun 27th February – 1886 – 7pm

Fri 4th March – The Front Porch

Sat 5th March – The British

Tue 8th March – 1886 

Fri 11th March – The Outback (band)

Fri 11th March – The Blind Pig

Sat 12th March – The Queens (band)

Sun 13th March – Quid’s Inn (solo) 

Thu 17th March – The Front Porch – 7 – 9

Thu March 17th – JAK’s – 10pm

Fri 18th March – The Thirsty Pigeon

Sat 19th March – O’Donnell’s 

Fri 25th March – The Bridge inn (Laxey)

Sat 26th March – O’Donnell’s 

Sun 27th March – 1886 – Ian Thompson band (mother’s day)

Mon 28th March – The Hydro Hotel (private function)

Fri 1st April – The Front Porch

Sat 2nd April – The British

Tue 5th April – The Hydro Hotel (private function)

Fri 8th April – The Blind Pig

Sat 9th April – The Queen’s Hotel (band)

Tue 12th April – The Hydro Hotel (private function)

Thu 14th April – 1886 – Manxical Mystery Tour

Fri 15th April – The Thirsty Pigeon

Sat 16th April – JAK’s Bar (duo)

Tue 19th April – Pico’s Bar – 8:15pm.

Fri 22nd April – The Thirsty pigeon

Sat 23rd April – The Outback (band)

Tue 26th April – Pico’s Bar – 8:15pm.

Fri 29th April – 1886 – band

Sun 1st May – 1886  (solo)

Tue 3rd May – Pico’s Bar – 8:15pm.

Fri 6th May – The Front Porch

Sat 7th May- The British

Sun 8th May – 1886 (solo)

Tue 10th May – Pico’s Bar – 8:15pm.

Fri 13th May – The Blind Pig

Sat 14th May – The Thirsty Pigeon

Tue 17th May – Pico’s Bar – 8:15pm.

Sat 21st May – The Queens (band)

Tue 24th May – Pico’s Bar – 8:15pm.

Sun 29th May – 1886 – 7:30pm (Band)

TT PRACTISE WEEK

Mon 30th May – 1886 – 10:30pm (solo)

Tue 31st May – The Outback (band)

Wed 1st June – The Ginger Hall

Thu 2nd June – Bushy’s fest – The Ian Thompson Band – 6pm – 7:30pm.

Thu 2nd June – The Outback (band) 8:30pm.

Fri 3rd June – Bushy’s fest – Manxical Mystery Tour – 4pm – 5:30pm.

Fri 3rd June – The Front Porch – 9pm.

TT WEEK

Sat 4th June – Supporting “Madness” The Ian Thompson Band

Mon 6th June – The Ginger Hall

Tue 7th June – The Front Porch

Wed 8th June – The Outback (band)

Thu 9th June – Pico’s Bar – 8:15pm.

Fri 10th June – Bushy’s fest – The Ian Thompson Band – 2pm – 3:30pm.

Fri 10th June – The Blind Pig 

Sat 11th June – I hour solo gig by IOM bank (Macmillan cancer charity)

Sat 11th June – The Bridge inn (Laxey)

Tue 14th June – Pico’s Bar – 8:15pm.

Fri 17th June – The Thirsty Pigeon

Sat 18th June – 1886 – (duo me and stan)

Tue 21st June – Pico’s Bar – 8:15pm.

Fri 24th June – JAK’s Bar – Manxical Mystery Tour

Sat 25th June – Onchan Park – 2:30pm – 3:45pm

Sat 25th June – The Manx Legion 8:30pm

Sun 26th June – 1886

Wed 29th June – Pico’s Bar – 8:15pm

Fri 1st July – The Front Porch

Sat 2nd July – The British

Mon 4th July – Quid’s inn 

Tue 5th July – the Tynwald Inn 

Wed 6th July – Pico’s Bar – 8:15pm

Fri 8th July – The Blind Pig

Sat 9th July – O’Donnell’s

Sun 10th July – (private function)

Tue 12th July – Pico’s Bar – 8:15pm

Fri 15th July – The Thirsty Pigeon

Sat 16th July – The Queens (band)

Tue 19th July – Pico’s Bar – 8:15pm.

Thu 21st July – (private function wedding 7pm Niarbyl)

Fri 22nd July – Quids Inn (me and Stan)

Sat 23rd July – (reunion night – gig at Quids – 5:30 – 7:30)

Wed 27th July – Pico’s Bar – 8:15pm.

Fri 29th July – 1886 – (duo me and Stan)

Sat 30th July – The Front Porch

Tue 2nd August – Pico’s Bar – 8:15pm.

Fri 5th August – The Front Porch

Sat 6th August – The British

Sun 7th August – Peel Carnival (5pm – 6pm)

Tue 9th August – Pico’s Bar – 8:15pm.

Fri 12th August – The Blind Pig

Sat 13th August – 1886 – band

Tue 16th August – Pico’s Bar – 8:15pm.

Fri 19th August – The Thirsty Pigeon

Sat 20th August – The Outback (band)

Sun 21st August – JAK’s (band)

Tue 23rd August – Pico’s Bar – 8:15pm

Thu 25th August – JAK’s – Manxical Mystery Tour

Fri 26th August – (private function – The Empress)

Sat 27th August- The Queens (band) 

Tue 30th August – Pico’s Bar – 8:15pm.

Fri 2nd September – The Front Porch

Sat 3rd September – (private function Ramsey 2 – 5)

Sat 3rd September – The British

Tue 6th September – Pico’s Bar – 8:15pm.

Fri 9th September – The Blind Pig

Sat 10th September – O’Donnell’s

Tue 13th September – Pico’s Bar – 8:15pm.

Fri 16th September – The Thirsty Pigeon

Sat 17th September – The Manx Legion

Sun 18th September – Villa Gardens – Solo – 2pm – 2:45pm.

Tue 20th September – Pico’s Bar – 8:15pm.

Fri 23rd September – The Bridge inn (Laxey)

Sat 24th September – The Queens (band)

Tue 27th September – Pico’s Bar – 8:15pm.

Fri 30th September – 1886 – band

Sat 1st October – The British

Tue 4th October – Pico’s Bar – 8:15pm.

Fri 7th October – The Front Porch

Tue 11th October – Pico’s Bar – 8:15pm.

Fri 14th October – The Blind Pig

Sat 15th October – 1886 – band

Tue 18th October – Pico’s Bar – 8:15pm.

Fri 21st October – The Thirsty Pigeon

Sat 22nd October – The Outback (me & stan))

Tue 25th October – Pico’s Bar – 8:15pm.

Sat 29th October – (Private function 1:30 – 6:30)

Tue 1st November – Pico’s Bar – 8:15pm.

Fri 4th November – The Front Porch

Sat 5th November – The British

Fri 11th November – The Blind Pig

Sat 12th November – O’Donnell’s

Fri 18th November – The Thirsty Pigeon

Sat 19th November – The Manx Legion

Sat 26th November – 1886 – band

Fri 2nd December – The Front Porch

Sat 3rd December – The British

Fri 9th December – The Blind Pig

Sat 10th December – The Outback (solo)

Thu 15th December – 1886 – solo

Fri 16th December – The Thirsty Pigeon

Sat 17th December – The Queens (duo)

Tue 20th December – JAK’s Bar (band)

Wed 21st December – 1886 – Manxical Mystery Tour

Sat 24th December – The Baltic Inn

Sat 25th December – 1886 – 1 – 5

Sun 26th December – The Bridge inn (Laxey)

Sat 31st December – The Sefton Hotel (band

Gigs on the Isle of Man 2023.

Fri 27th January – JAK’s (band)

Fri 24th February – JAK’s (band)

Sat 25th February – The Manx Legion (band)

Fri 31st March – JAK’s (band)

Fri 28th April – JAK’s (band)

Sat 29th April – The Manx Legion (private function)

Fri 26th May – JAK’s (band)

Fri 30th June – JAK’s (band)

Fri 28th July – JAK’s (band)

Fri 25th August – JAK’s (band)

Fri 29th September – JAK’s (band)

Fri 27th October – JAK’s (band)

Fri 24th November – JAK’s (band)

Fri 29th December – JAK’s (band)

Gigs on the Isle of Man 2022.

Sat 1st January – The Front Porch 8pm

Fri 7th January – The Front Porch

Sat 8th January – O’Donnell’s (cancelled)

Sun 9th January – 1886 – 4 – 8:30

Fri 14th January – The Outback

Sun 16th January – 1886

Fri 21st January – The Thirsty Pigeon

Sat 22nd January – S.D.O.F.A

Sun 23rd January – Quid’s Inn – Manxical Mystery Tour

Fri 28th January – the Blind Pig

Sat 29th January – The Thirsty Pigeon

Sun 30th January – 1886

Fri 4th February – The Front Porch

Sat 5th February – The British

Fri 11th February – The Outback (band)

Fri 11th February – Sam Webb’s

Sat 12th February – S.D.O.F.A

Fri 18th February – The Thirsty Pigeon

Fri 25th February – JAK’s (band)

Sat 26th February – The Manx Legion – (band)

Sun 27th February – 1886 – 7pm

Fri 4th March – The Front Porch

Sat 5th March – The British

Tue 8th March – 1886 

Fri 11th March – The Outback (band)

Fri 11th March – The Blind Pig

Sat 12th March – The Queens (band)

Sun 13th March – Quid’s Inn (solo) 

Thu 17th March – The Front Porch – 7 – 9

Thu March 17th – JAK’s – 10pm

Fri 18th March – The Thirsty Pigeon

Sat 19th March – O’Donnell’s 

Fri 25th March – The Bridge inn (Laxey)

Sat 26th March – O’Donnell’s 

Sun 27th March – 1886 – Ian Thompson band (mother’s day)

Mon 28th March – The Hydro Hotel (private function)

Fri 1st April – The Front Porch

Sat 2nd April – The British

Tue 5th April – The Hydro Hotel (private function)

Fri 8th April – The Blind Pig

Sat 9th April – The Queen’s Hotel (band)

Tue 12th April – The Hydro Hotel (private function)

Thu 14th April – 1886 – Manxical Mystery Tour

Fri 15th April – The Thirsty Pigeon

Sat 16th April – JAK’s Bar (duo)

Tue 19th April – Pico’s Bar – 8:15pm.

Fri 22nd April – The Thirsty pigeon

Sat 23rd April – The Outback (band)

Tue 26th April – Pico’s Bar – 8:15pm.

Fri 29th April – 1886 – band

Sun 1st May – 1886  (solo)

Tue 3rd May – Pico’s Bar – 8:15pm.

Fri 6th May – The Front Porch

Sat 7th May- The British

Sun 8th May – 1886 (solo)

Tue 10th May – Pico’s Bar – 8:15pm.

Fri 13th May – The Blind Pig

Sat 14th May – The Thirsty Pigeon

Tue 17th May – Pico’s Bar – 8:15pm.

Sat 21st May – The Queens (band)

Tue 24th May – Pico’s Bar – 8:15pm.

Sun 29th May – 1886 – 7:30pm (Band)

TT PRACTISE WEEK

Mon 30th May – 1886 – 10:30pm (solo)

Tue 31st May – The Outback (band)

Wed 1st June – The Ginger Hall

Thu 2nd June – Bushy’s fest – The Ian Thompson Band – 6pm – 7:30pm.

Thu 2nd June – The Outback (band) 8:30pm.

Fri 3rd June – Bushy’s fest – Manxical Mystery Tour – 4pm – 5:30pm.

Fri 3rd June – The Front Porch – 9pm.

TT WEEK

Sat 4th June – Supporting “Madness” The Ian Thompson Band

Mon 6th June – The Ginger Hall

Tue 7th June – The Front Porch

Wed 8th June – The Outback (band)

Thu 9th June – Pico’s Bar – 8:15pm.

Fri 10th June – Bushy’s fest – The Ian Thompson Band – 2pm – 3:30pm.

Fri 10th June – The Blind Pig 

Sat 11th June – I hour solo gig by IOM bank (Macmillan cancer charity)

Sat 11th June – The Bridge inn (Laxey)

Tue 14th June – Pico’s Bar – 8:15pm.

Fri 17th June – The Thirsty Pigeon

Sat 18th June – 1886 – (duo me and stan)

Tue 21st June – Pico’s Bar – 8:15pm.

Fri 24th June – JAK’s Bar – Manxical Mystery Tour

Sat 25th June – Onchan Park – 2:30pm – 3:45pm

Sat 25th June – The Manx Legion 8:30pm

Sun 26th June – 1886

Wed 29th June – Pico’s Bar – 8:15pm

Fri 1st July – The Front Porch

Sat 2nd July – The British

Mon 4th July – Quid’s inn 

Tue 5th July – the Tynwald Inn 

Wed 6th July – Pico’s Bar – 8:15pm

Fri 8th July – The Blind Pig

Sat 9th July – O’Donnell’s

Sun 10th July – (private function)

Tue 12th July – Pico’s Bar – 8:15pm

Fri 15th July – The Thirsty Pigeon

Sat 16th July – The Queens (band)

Tue 19th July – Pico’s Bar – 8:15pm.

Thu 21st July – (private function wedding 7pm Niarbyl)

Fri 22nd July – Quids Inn (me and Stan)

Sat 23rd July – (reunion night – gig at Quids – 5:30 – 7:30)

Wed 27th July – Pico’s Bar – 8:15pm.

Fri 29th July – 1886 – (duo me and Stan)

Sat 30th July – The Front Porch

Tue 2nd August – Pico’s Bar – 8:15pm.

Fri 5th August – The Front Porch

Sat 6th August – The British

Sun 7th August – Peel Carnival (5pm – 6pm)

Tue 9th August – Pico’s Bar – 8:15pm.

Fri 12th August – The Blind Pig

Sat 13th August – 1886 – band

Tue 16th August – Pico’s Bar – 8:15pm.

Fri 19th August – The Thirsty Pigeon

Sat 20th August – The Outback (band)

Sun 21st August – JAK’s (band)

Tue 23rd August – Pico’s Bar – 8:15pm

Thu 25th August – JAK’s – Manxical Mystery Tour

Fri 26th August – (private function – The Empress)

Sat 27th August- The Queens (band) 

Tue 30th August – Pico’s Bar – 8:15pm.

Fri 2nd September – The Front Porch

Sat 3rd September – (private function Ramsey 2 – 5)

Sat 3rd September – The British

Tue 6th September – Pico’s Bar – 8:15pm.

Fri 9th September – The Blind Pig

Sat 10th September – O’Donnell’s

Tue 13th September – Pico’s Bar – 8:15pm.

Fri 16th September – The Thirsty Pigeon

Sat 17th September – The Manx Legion

Sun 18th September – Villa Gardens – Solo – 2pm – 2:45pm.

Tue 20th September – Pico’s Bar – 8:15pm.

Fri 23rd September – The Bridge inn (Laxey)

Sat 24th September – The Queens (band)

Tue 27th September – Pico’s Bar – 8:15pm.

Fri 30th September – 1886 – band

Sat 1st October – The British

Tue 4th October – Pico’s Bar – 8:15pm.

Fri 7th October – The Front Porch

Tue 11th October – Pico’s Bar – 8:15pm.

Fri 14th October – The Blind Pig

Sat 15th October – 1886 – band

Tue 18th October – Pico’s Bar – 8:15pm.

Fri 21st October – The Thirsty Pigeon

Sat 22nd October – The Outback (me & stan))

Tue 25th October – Pico’s Bar – 8:15pm.

Sat 29th October – (Private function 1:30 – 6:30)

Tue 1st November – Pico’s Bar – 8:15pm.

Fri 4th November – The Front Porch

Sat 5th November – The British

Fri 11th November – The Blind Pig

Sat 12th November – O’Donnell’s

Fri 18th November – The Thirsty Pigeon

Sat 19th November – The Manx Legion

Sat 26th November – 1886 – band

Fri 2nd December – The Front Porch

Sat 3rd December – The British

Fri 9th December – The Blind Pig

Sat 10th December – The Outback (solo)

Thu 15th December – 1886 – solo

Fri 16th December – The Thirsty Pigeon

Sat 17th December – The Queens (duo)

Tue 20th December – JAK’s Bar (band)

Wed 21st December – 1886 – Manxical Mystery Tour

Sat 24th December – The Baltic Inn

Sat 25th December – 1886 – 1 – 5

Sun 26th December – The Bridge inn (Laxey)

Sat 31st December – The Sefton Hotel (band

Gigs on the Isle of Man 2023.

Fri 27th January – JAK’s (band)

Fri 24th February – JAK’s (band)

Sat 25th February – The Manx Legion (band)

Fri 31st March – JAK’s (band)

Fri 28th April – JAK’s (band)

Sat 29th April – The Manx Legion (private function)

Fri 26th May – JAK’s (band)

Fri 30th June – JAK’s (band)

Fri 28th July – JAK’s (band)

Fri 25th August – JAK’s (band)

Fri 29th September – JAK’s (band)

Fri 27th October – JAK’s (band)

Fri 24th November – JAK’s (band)

Fri 29th December – JAK’s (band)

Write up by Mike Wade – The Manx Independent – 17/03/22. (regarding Ian’s single “Something Better”)

A Review from Brian Mear, on the album “New World” 29/11/18.

I’ve been listening to Ian Thompson ‘s album ” New World” for several days now whilst travelling to work and back
Ian is incredibly talented and a unique and wonderful singer/ song writer
He’s from Liverpool and now resides in the Isle of Man
The thing that stands out with this album for me is the quality and melody of the songs ( jointly written by Ian’s brother Jimmy )
You can’t help making comparisons with the Beatles with that standard of writing
There is rock, pop, jazz and classical influence s here
I hear shades of Van Morrison, the Beatles like I’ve already mentioned, Chris rea, Level 42 and even Madness
The diversity of each track and the craftsmanship is breathtaking
We live in an age where art like this seems to have so little monetary value
When you consider how much, time, effort and emotion that’s been invested here
This track ” Your my Liverpool ” has really affected me this morning
To me it’s a song about loss, about missing times past and loved ones especially parents
It conjured up my Mum straight away and I felt she was sat beside me in the car this morning as tears poured down my face
A stunning incredible album by a fantastic musician.
Beautiful.                                           Purchase album here

cropped-new-world-cover.jpg